New books for March!

Posted by Jazz on Thursday March 2nd, 2017

We are utterly spoilt for choice this month, with three very different but equally excellent reads hitting the shelves on 2nd March. Whether you're up for an exciting sci-fi with a badass female lead, a heart-in-mouth YA tale of abduction, or a real-life historical journey with a beautiful bond between one boy and his elephant: WE'VE GOT YOU COVERED.

Moondust by Gemma Fowler

When Lumite was discovered on the Moon, the dark days of the Earth appeared to be over. But disaster struck: a huge explosion at the first Lumite power station. Agatha, god-daughter of the founder of Lunar Inc., was sole survivor. As the 10th anniversary of the disaster looms, Aggie takes centre stage, a poster-girl for the company. But a chance meeting with one of the prisoner-miners, the darkly attractive Danny, changes her mind about everything she knows about her world.

If you're a fan of Marissa Meyer's Lunar Chronicles or you loved Rogue One as much as we did, this will be right up your street. Gemma's sci-fi world is awesome and the action is completely edge-of-your-seat: read the first chapter now!

Amy Chelsea Stacie Dee by Mary G. Thompson

Cousins Amy and Dee were kidnapped by a stranger as children. Now, sixteen-year-old Amy is back with her parents. Dressed in purple and clutching a plastic doll, she refuses to answer questions. As Amy struggles towards a normal teenage life, her family – and the police – press her for information. Unable to escape her past, Amy realizes she has to confront the truth. How did she survive? How did she escape? And what happened to Dee?

Called 'one of the best YA novels I've ever read' by acclaimed author C.J. Skuse, this is a read-it-in-one-sitting novel like no other. Perfect for fans of Louise O'Neill, Cat Clarke and Lisa Heathfield.

Read the first chapter here.

The Elephant Thief by Jane Kerr

When pickpocket Danny accidentally bids for Maharajah the elephant at an Edinburgh auction, he’s swept up on an unforgettable journey. His new employer, a zookeeper, transforms Danny into a bejewelled Indian prince. As he rides Maharajah from Scotland to his new hom in England, even Queen Victoria follows their journey with delight. But a rival zookeeper wagers on their failure, and soon Danny’s shady connections threaten to overturn the mission …

Thrilling chases through Edinburgh? Check. Bejewelled fake prince à la Aladdin? Check. Touching bond between boy and elephant? Double check. If you fancy trying it out, look no further than chapter one.

No comments yet!

Why not be the first?