About Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Kiran Millwood Hargrave is the author of four Chicken House novels – The Girl of Ink & Stars, The Island at the End of EverythingThe Way Past Winter and A Secret of Birds & Bone. Perfect for both middle-grade and YA readers, Kiran's award-winning books are full to bursting with beautiful prose, witty narrative and masterful plotting, making them the ideal texts to help promote creative writing.


You can find many brilliant resources for all of Kiran's Chicken House books on Authorfy, and the teacher's notes provided below can be a great starting point for anyone looking to use these texts in a school setting.

You can now find chapter-by-chapter resources for A Secret of Birds & Bone! These are free to download below, and have been developed by KS2 teacher Scott Evans.

View Kiran Millwood Hargrave's page

Teaching notes

A Secret of Birds & Bone – chapter-by-chapter resources
( 839.16 KB PDF)


The Girl of Ink & Stars teaching notes
( 693.24 KB PDF)


The Island at the End of Everything teaching notes
( 849.48 KB PDF)


The Way Past Winter teaching notes
( 1.32 MB PDF)