Share this:

About Dan Smith

Growing up, Dan Smith lived three lives: the day-to-day humdrum of boarding school, finding adventure in the padi fields of Asia and the jungles of Brazil, and in a world of his own, making up stories.

Dan's Chicken House novels include My Friend the Enemy, My Brother's Secret and Big Game, the latter of which is now a major movie starring Samuel L. Jackson. His fourth novel for Chicken House, Boy X, published in 2016, and his newest novel Below Zero is publishing January 2018.

Dan lives in Newcastle with his wife and two children.

Accolades and awards

    Selected as a Children’s Bookseller’s Choice in The Bookseller's July 2013 preview
    Longlisted for the Branford Boase Award 2014
    Shortlisted for the 2015 Coventry Inspiration Book Award
    Shortlisted for the Teach Primary New Children's Fiction Award 2015
    Shortlisted for the Historical Association Young Quills Competition 2013
    Shortlisted for the North East Book Award 2013
    Shortlisted for the Tower Hamlets Book Award 2014
  • BOY X
    Shortlisted for the Lambeth Phoenix Book Award 2017
    Winner of the Coventry Inspiration Book Award, Hooked on Books category
  • Dan's adult novels have been shortlisted for the Authors’ Club Best First Novel Award 2011 and nominated for the IMPAC Dublin Literary Award.

Other books by Dan Smith

Dan Smith in the news

NaNoWriMo Nov Day 20: Dan Smith

Today Dan Smith – author of no less than FOUR Chicken House books, including Big Game and his most recent novel, Boy X – has stopped by the blog to share his top tips for aspiring writers.
What would be your five top tips to ...

Continue reading

Dan Smith: writing tips

To celebrate the publication of the thrilling, edge-of-your-seat adventure Boy X, author Dan Smith shares his tips for aspiring writers!

Continue reading

More Dan Smith news