About James Nicol

James Nicol has loved books and stories his whole life. As a child he spent hours absorbed in novels, watching epic 1980s cartoons or adventuring in the wood at the bottom of the garden. He lives in Yorkshire with his partner and a black cockapoo called Bonnie. James is the author of The Apprentice Witch series, comprising three books.

Take a look at extracts from all of James' titles below, along with brilliant chapter-by-chapter resources from primary teacher Scott Evans.

View James Nicol's page

Teaching notes

The Apprentice Witch chapter-by-chapter resources
( 1.41 MB PDF)


A Witch Alone chapter-by-chapter resources
( 958.50 KB PDF)


A Witch Come True chapter-by-chapter resources
( 707.42 KB PDF)