Call of the Titanic

Sid is proud to be working on the Titanic, while Clara’s a stowaway on a much smaller boat, Carpathia, with a dog called Rigel.

When disaster strikes it will take all their courage – and the help of a remarkable sea creature – to answer the call of a sinking ship.

My Family and Other Romans

Silvia’s dad loves re-enacting Roman battles on Hadrian’s Wall – unfortunately, he’s stumbled through a one-way portal back to ancient Rome and dragged the whole family along for the ride.

Now, the fate of the world rests on Silvia’s shoulders …

The Wall Between Us

Berlin 1961.

Anja and Monika are best friends – they even share a cat called Otto. But a huge barbed wire fence is built between their apartment blocks – dividing the whole city: the Berlin Wall. Then, Anja discovers that Otto has found a way across.

And if he can reach Monika, so can she …

No Place for Monsters: School of Phantoms

The second spooky illustrated story in the No Place For Monsters series - Stranger Things for younger readers!

Levi and Kat rescued their town’s forgotten children, but now the strangeness has started again: hundreds of creepy snowmen pop up across town and a bizarre blizzard traps the kids in school.

Now it’s up to a small group of students – along with some supernatural helpers – to uncover the cold-hearted menace before it consumes the entire school …

Ajay and the Jaipur Moon

Ajay’s wish has come true – he’s a news reporter for the paper he and his friends set up, The Mumbai Sun. But money is tight, so when he learns of a cash prize for the first person to find a crashed meteor, the race is on …

The sequel to the critically acclaimed Times/Chicken House Competition winner, Ajay and the Mumbai Sun.

Time to Shine at the River School

Welcome to a new term at the River School!

Best friends Jummy and Caro are attending together and they’re thrilled to discover that they both get to work on Nile House’s agricultural project.

But the Shine-Shine River is running low and Jummy will have to step up if she wants to save it …

Son of the Sea

The second whimsical, wondrous novel by the author of The Peculiar Tale of the Tentacle Boy!

Casper has water in his blood, his spirit, and especially in his giant webbed toes. His greatest ambition is to be the youngest person ever to swim the channel. The trouble is, his mum and dad are determined to ‘protect him’ from the allure of the waves (whatever that means!) and time is running out.

But when a freak accident hospitalises his parents, Casper’s sent to stay with a grandmother he’s never met in the magical seaside town of Corallium … but can he unravel the mysterious link between himself, Corallium and the ocean?

My Love Life and the Apocalypse

A post-apocalyptic rom-com perfect for fans of Adam Silvera.

Human life is dormant, waiting out the apocalypse in suspended animation. Empty cities wait for their inhabitants to return, tended by robots. But not all robots are simply machines.

Humanoid Echo’s heart is faulty, which means he’s pretty much a normal teenage boy … and he’s lonely after a century of vintage TV reruns and canned beans.

Then, a space-pod crashes from the sky with a girl on board. Pandora. But why has she woken up and no one else?

Can they find answers in their ended world – and new beginnings in each other?

Dandy the Highway Lion

Lonely after their family moves to London, Ben and Hattie are delighted to find a new friend in the park. But Mr Dandy Paws is a highway lion – and with a P.I. on his tail, his latest scheme could get Ben and Hattie into far more trouble than they bargained for …

• A delightfully old-fashioned debut adventure for modern children aged 7-11, full of friendship, daring and fun.
• Set in an off-the-wall 1920s London complete with talking animals.
• Strong animal welfare and ecological themes with a funny and fantastical twist.
• Illustrated by Roxane de Rond with a classic nostalgic feel.

The Way of Dog

Orphan puppy Scruffity yearns for Family – and when he is set free by a boy as unwanted and lonely as he is, his dream is fulfilled. But when tragedy strikes, Scruffity is alone again. How does a dog find his way home when he never had one to begin with?

How does a dog find his way home when he never had one to begin with?

Tender and grittyTHE SYDNEY MORNING HERALD
Beautifully written... ambitious and absorbing’ BOOKS + PUBLISHING

Xanthe and the Ruby Crown

Xanthe loves visiting her grandmother in her tower-block flat with its lush rooftop garden. When Nani is diagnosed with dementia, Xanthe is determined to help her remember who she is and her family history. A mysterious cat leads Xanthe to some unexpected answers; secret mementoes from Nani’s past which reveal her as a girl who, long ago, was forced to leave everything she loved behind …

The fourth novel by bestselling, Costa Award-winning author Jasbinder Bilan follows archaeology-obsessed Xanthe as she uncovers her family’s secrets ...

Vita and the Gladiator

When high-born Vita’s father is murdered in Roman Londinium, Vita is forced to disguise herself as a slave at the gladiator’s arena. Here she forges an unlikely bond with Brea, a native Briton gladiatrix. Together, they resolve to bring the killer to justice before Vita is discovered …

• A rip-roaring adventure set in Roman London from the rising queen of middle-grade historical fiction, Ally Sherrick – winner of the Historical Association Young Quills Award.
• Vita, nicknamed ‘Little Owl’ by her father, is an unlikely hero – but when her father is murdered she has to uncover the truth, even if it means finding unlikely friends.
• Themes of deceit, storytelling and fighting justice.

Monster Bogey

Frank has a secret: he picks his nose. But when his tower of greenies comes alive, turning into a terrifying bogey monster that escapes into the night, he has to catch the creature before the villagers of Honkerty find out …

A funny, fantastic debut by author Anna Brooke, a major new talent in middle-grade comedy fiction!

Wildoak

The Big Freeze 1963.

Maggie’s stutter makes going to school hard. She will do almost anything to avoid speaking in class – even if that leads to trouble. Sent to stay in the depths of Cornwall with a grandfather she barely knows, Maggie discovers an abandoned snow leopard hiding in the nearby woods. Rumpus was an exotic ‘pet’ from Harrods that proved too wild. Maggie and Rumpus build an understanding, but when the creature is spotted by others, danger follows. Can Maggie believe in herself enough to save the cub in time and the ancient forest around them?

C. C. Harrington’s debut middle-grade adventure introduces an enticing, classic new voice in children’s fiction.

Game Over Girl

When Lola’s selected to test the VR game Better Than Life at her posh new boarding school, she’s soon skipping lessons to play. All she has to do to live her perfect VR life is keep her secrets buried.

But this is a game she can’t win …

• An original, high-concept psychological thriller – Holly Jackson meets VR horror – from the acclaimed author of Every Line of You.
• Set in an exclusive boarding school, this rollercoaster ride of a story involves an unreliable narrator, an immersive VR game, a dark secret and a huge twist.
• Perfect for fans of Cynthia Murphy and Kathryn Foxfield.

PRAISE FOR EVERY LINE OF YOU:
dark and brilliantly shockingLAUREN JAMES
a dark, modern twist on young loveBIG ISSUE

The Girl of Ink and Stars: Illustrated Edition

Worrying things are happening on Joya, Isabella’s once-beautiful island. When Isa’s best friend, Lupe, disappears, Isa is determined to help look for her. As the daughter of a map-maker, she has the knowledge needed to navigate the dark heart of the island.

• A beautiful gift edition of Kiran Millwood Hargrave’s bestselling, prize-winning and critically acclaimed children’s debut.
• Quarter bound and illustrated throughout in colour by talented new artist, Olia Muza.
• Includes a stunning new 3,000-word end chapter.
• Over 250,000 copies sold in the UK of the original paperback.
• Winner of the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize and the British Book Awards Children’s Book of the Year.

PRAISE FOR THE GIRL OF INK AND STARS:
‘Beautifully written’ MALORIE BLACKMAN
‘Absolutely stunning’ CATHERINE DOYLE

The Spellbound Tree

When their magician grandpa is imprisoned in a snow globe, Hedy and Spencer – with cousins Jelly and Max – go on a magical quest to free him, with the help and hindrance of ghosts and monsters.

• The series finale of screenwriter duo Mikki Lish and Kelly Ngai’s acclaimed middle-grade trilogy.
• TV rights sold to WIIP in conjunction with Sam Raimi (The Evil Dead; Spider-Man).
• Magical, gutsy, and spooky; a family mystery with a pair of brave siblings at its heart.

PRAISE FOR THE HOUSE ON HOARDER HILL:
‘Unforgettable spooky characters, fantastically imaginative plot twists and turns, and a ghostly mystery that keeps you on the edge of your seat’ BOOKTRUST

The Other Ones

Sal lives in a haunted house.

He longs to be ordinary, but when the strangest of strangers arrives on his doorstep – a fellow outcast called Pax – his life grows even more complicated.

Sal goes on to develop an unlikely friendship with Pax, whose love for all things spooky drew him to the house and its inhabitants. But as the two grow closer, the true nature of the hauntings is gradually revealed.

Will Sal find the courage to conquer his ghosts, or will he risk losing Pax for good?

  • A cosy, contemporary romance and ghost story with spooky Gilmore Girls vibes
  • Winner of the Times/Chicken House Chairman’s Choice Prize, 2020
  • An LGBTQ+ romance between two very different boys, who readers will quickly root for and grow to love
  • For fans of Heartstopper – with a spooky twist 

No Place for Monsters

A deliciously spooky novel packed with illustrations, perfect for fans of Goosebumps

‘Wildly imaginative and totally terrifying’ JEFF KINNEY, AUTHOR OF DIARY OF A WIMPY KID

‘A haunted-house version of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory’ BRIAN SELZNICKAUTHOR OF THE INVENTION OF HUGO CABRET

‘Overgrown with fantastic ideas’ THE NEW YORK TIMES

Nothing is out of place in the quiet suburban town of Cowslip Grove.

But kids have been going missing – and only Levi and Kat notice.

It’s up to them to save the missing kids before a hidden evil swallows the town whole …

A spellbinding, original and lavishly illustrated horror story for middle-grade readers. Half-written, half-graphic novel, and all spooky mystery!

The Spell Tailors

A spellbinding new fantasy novel from the author of The Apprentice Witch series! 

Hen dreams of becoming a spell tailor, stitching magic into clothing like his beloved Nana.

But thanks to new factories, spell tailors are struggling. His Uncle Bertie’s fancy shop has shut down, and when he, Aunt Lucia and stuck-up cousin Connie move in, it’s a disaster for all the family.

Then Hen stumbles upon a new kind of stitch – one which causes Nana and Bertie to ban him from sewing.

What is the power of the stitch that can sew memories into clothes – and could it be the very thing to save them all?

Explores the real magic of clothes as Hen, a spell tailor’s apprentice, struggles to master his family craft – and discovers a new kind of stitch in the process!

 

PRAISE FOR THE APPRENTICE WITCH:

'Reminded me of the best of the Worst Witch books' ABI ELPHINSTONE

'A charming tale of magic, bravery and friendship, reminiscent of Diana Wynne Jones.' GUARDIAN

'The Apprentice Witch is entirely more charming, adventurous, and full of heart than a book has any right to be.' TRENTON LEE STEWART

'A delightful, witty and vivid story' KIRAN MILLWOOD HARGRAVE