Payback

Payback, an enigmatic anticapitalist group staffed by teens, has one mission: to steal from the rich and give to the poor. Its dramatic heists create a sensation. But when excitable Payback fan Tom is recruited, he accidentally brings with him a shady money man, Mr Ruiz. And he’s not the only one on their tail. As the net closes in, the teenagers of Payback fight to stay alive – and true to their values. Being Robin Hood has never been this hard …

A timely, political and electrifying high-concept thriller for today’s engaged young adults, from the author of Lifers

NaNoWriMo Nov Day 8: M.A. Griffin

Posted by Jazz on Tuesday November 8th, 2016

We've passed the one week mark! Those novels should be starting to take shape now, but if you're after a bit of extra inspiration, look no further than M.A. Griffin's NaNoWriMo survival kit. M.A. Griffin won the Times/Chicken House Children's Fiction Competition with his debut novel The Poison Boy back in 2012 under the name Fletcher Moss, and his new novel Lifers was published earlier this year.  (more…)

New April books!

Posted by Jazz on Saturday April 16th, 2016

How is it APRIL already?! It seems like Christmas has only just been and gone, but here we are, in the month where it's definitely acceptable to moan about the rain and how it should be sunny by now. But no matter, as we've got some fantastic books for you to stay inside and curl up with! (more…)

M.A. Griffin's top 5 writing tips

Posted by Jazz on Tuesday April 12th, 2016

We are super excited to share Lifers by M.A. Griffin with the wider world this month. An atmospheric noir thriller set in future Manchester, Lifers is packed full of high-octane adventure and tension, and is perfect for fans of The Maze Runner. Here, M.A. Griffin shares his top tips for aspiring writers ... 
(more…)

M.A. Griffin

M.A. Griffin won the Times/Chicken House Children's Fiction Competition with The Poison Boy in 2012, writing under the name Fletcher Moss. He works as an assistant head teacher at a school in Greater Manchester, having previously worked as a classroom teacher, shelf-stacker and van driver in France and Spain. Lifers is his first book for older readers.

Lifers

Fear haunts the streets of Manchester: a schoolgirl has disappeared.

Preston is drawn to investigate, exploring the city in the hunt for his missing friend. Deep in the bowels of a secret scientific institute, he discovers a sinister machine.

Captured and condemned to a cavernous space filled with problematic teens, Preston is determined to escape – but this is no ordinary jail. Friendships are forged and lives lost in a reckless battle for freedom, revenge – and revolution.

Packed full of high-octane adventure and tension; perfect for fans of The Maze Runner who crave a grittier real-world setting.