We are hiring!

Posted by Jazz on Wednesday January 10th, 2018

Come and join the team at Chicken House ... (more…)

Two shortlistings for The Island at the End of Everything

Posted by Jazz on Friday November 24th, 2017

It's a double celebration in the Chicken House this week, as The Island at the End of Everything by Kiran Millwood Hargrave scoops not one but TWO major awards shortlistings!  (more…)

Help us #CrackTheFeverCode!

Posted by Jazz on Wednesday September 13th, 2017

To celebrate the paperback release of The Fever Code, the fifth book in James Dashner's multi-million-selling Maze Runner series, we decided to launch with something a little more ... mysterious! (more…)

Beetle Boy is a Tom Fletcher Book Club pick!

Posted by Jazz on Wednesday September 13th, 2017

Here at Chicken House we are very excited to announce that Beetle Boy by M.G. Leonard has been selected for the first-ever Tom Fletcher Book Club, exclusive to WHSmith! (more…)

DRAGON RIDER is getting a sequel!

Posted by Jazz on Friday February 24th, 2017

We are super proud and pleased to announce some very exciting news – the wonderful Cornelia Funke is back with a sequel to the bestselling fantasy novel Dragon Rider(more…)

Introducing our Young Judge ...

Posted by Kesia on Friday February 17th, 2017

Only one month to go before the Times/Chicken House Children's Fiction Competition longlist announcement, and while our team are feverishly reading through our biggest EVER number of submissions, we have some very exciting news  … (more…)

Maz Evans is Spurgeons' first ever ambassador

Posted by Jazz on Wednesday February 8th, 2017

Those of you who've already managed to get your hands on a copy of Who Let the Gods Out? will know that it is not lacking in the hilarity stakes – readers young and old have been loving Maz Evans' hilarious mythological romp. But it's also the tale of a young boy in a very difficult position: caring for his very poorly mum whilst still at school. (more…)

Who Let the Gods Out? is Waterstones Children's Book of the Month!

Posted by Jazz on Wednesday February 1st, 2017

We are SUPER excited to share the wonderful news that Who Let the Gods Out? by Maz Evans is Waterstones' Children's Book of the Month! We could not be more thrilled for this wonderful book and its wonderful author - ever since Maz's story stormed into the chicken coop with a bolt of lightning, we knew it was going to be something special ... (more…)

The Secret of Nightingale Wood is Waterstones' Children's Book of the Month!

Posted by Jazz on Saturday October 1st, 2016

Introducing The Secret of Nightingale Wood by Lucy Strange – a gorgeous, haunting winter read, and now Waterstones' Children's Book of the Month!  (more…)

APPRENTICE WITCHES!

Posted by Kesia on Thursday June 30th, 2016

Exactly one week to go until James Nicol’s The Apprentice Witch is magicked into the book world, and we’re delighted to announce that we’ve acquired two more novels in the series – hurray! But what’s it all about? (more…)

And the winner is ...

Posted by Kesia on Friday June 17th, 2016

On Monday at the Savile Club, in the downpour of the British summer, our ten judges sat down over coffee and biscuits to decide on the winner of the 2016 Times/Chicken House Children’s Fiction Competition. The debate was heated: every one of our shortlisted novels received passionate support. But ultimately, there can only be one winner. And the winner is … (more…)

Our shortlist is here!

Posted by Jazz on Friday April 29th, 2016

From the huge amount of entries we received to this year's Times/Chicken House Children's Fiction Competition, we've managed to narrow it down to just five! It was a tough job - each of this year's longlistees were truly fantastic, each story filled to the brim with originality, outstanding writing and completely riveting plots. Each longlisted submission left our team of readers glued to the pages, and it was no mean feat to whittle 20 stories down to five. So without further ado, here they are!  (more…)

We have a longlist!

Posted by Jazz on Thursday March 31st, 2016

We're very pleased to be announcing the longlist for the Times/Chicken House Children's Fiction Competition! Our team of experienced readers read every single submission – and there were lots! – and along with Barry Cunningham and the Chicken House team have drawn up a longlist of the twenty very best submissions. So, here they are!  (more…)

OPEN COOP is back!

Posted by Kesia on Thursday March 3rd, 2016

At Chicken House, we’ve always been committed to seeking out and developing new talent – our fantastically successful Times/Chicken House Children's Fiction Competition offers the chance for unpublished and unagented authors to win a £10,000 publishing contract, and we’ve had tonnes of success publishing the winners (and several shortlistees!) over the years. (more…)

New March Books!

Posted by Jazz on Tuesday March 1st, 2016

This Thursday is WORLD BOOK DAY! And is there more apt a day to publish two fantastic books? 3rd March is bringing with it beetle buddies and a (hopefully not real-life) chocolate disaster ... here's a bit more about the brilliant books hitting shelves everywhere today!

The Great Chocoplot by Chris Callaghan 

It's not a thought I like to dwell on too much (I say with a slice of chocolate cake in hand), but what if you woke up one morning to find out all chocolate had just ... disappeared? That's exactly what happens to our protagonist Jelly, who lives in a chocolate-factory town with her family. Following a trail of clues to the suspicious Garibaldi Chocolati, Jelly's determined to end the chocopocalypse! A truly terrifying premise –  but one that's perfect for when you're polishing off those Easter eggs – Chris' debut novel is a funny, original novel guaranteed to make you reach for the chocolate tin!

Follow Chris on Twitter: @callaghansstuff

Beetle Boy by M.G. Leonard

Ah, you might have already seen this one out and about ... M.G. Leonard's debut novel has been available exclusively at Waterstones as its February Children's Book of the Month, but now it's available nationwide! A quirky adventure perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Beetle Boy tells the story of Darkus, who thinks his dad's disappearance could have something to do with the truly ghastly Lucretia Cutter – a mystery he may only be able to solve with the help of his beetle friend, Baxter. This is a truly remarkable story. with courage and friendship at its heart – check out some of our favourite reviews here!

Follow M.G. on Twitter: @mglnrd

Chicken House acquires Freshers by Tom Ellen & Lucy Ivison

Posted by Jazz on Thursday February 11th, 2016

You may have already spotted it, but we're very pleased and excited to announce that we've bought the third novel from writing duo Tom Ellen & Lucy IvisonFreshers!

Shortlisted for the inaugural YA Book Prize and the 2013 Times/Chicken House Children's Fiction Competition, the duo's debut book Lobsters was published to critical acclaim in 2014, while their second novel Never Evers hit the shops earlier this year.

Another laugh-out-loud dual narrative, Freshers is a YA novel following two protagonists through that tumultuous first year of university. Starring new characters – but featuring some familiar faces from Lobsters – Freshers is a contemporary, authentic story packed full of love, sex and friendship.

Coming August 2017 – keep an eye on the website for more details! And while you're waiting, why not check out Tom & Lucy's top 10 writing tips or watch their Never Evers vid below?

Follow Lucy Ivison on Twitter: @lucyivison 

Chicken House acquires Who Let the Gods Out? by Mary Evans

Posted by Jazz on Wednesday January 20th, 2016

We're very excited to share the news that we'll be publishing Mary Evans' Who Let the Gods Out in spring 2017!  (more…)

James Dashner is coming to the UK!

Posted by Jazz on Friday October 2nd, 2015

Fan of The Maze Runner? You aren't going to want to miss this ...  (more…)

Chicken House acquires Lydia: The Bad Bennet Girl

Posted by Jazz on Monday September 14th, 2015

You may have already spotted the announcement online, but we’re very excited to share the news that we’ll be publishing Lydia: The Bad Bennet Girl by Natasha Farrant in 2016! (more…)

CHILDREN'S FICTION COMPETITION WINNER ANNOUNCED ... AND 2016 COMPETITION OPENS!

Posted by Kesia on Friday March 27th, 2015

We are delighted to announce the winner of the 2015 Times/ Chicken House Children's Fiction Competition:

THE SECRET COOKING CLUB FOR GIRLS by Laurel Remington

Laurel's warm and witty tale of baking, friendship and finding your calling impressed all of our judges. Scarlett's mum - a social media guru - uses her daughter's life as embarrassing blog-fodder. Withdrawn and lacking in confidence, Scarlett stumbles upon the magic of cooking. But she can't possibly let her mum find out...

Many congratulations to Laurel and to all our shortlisted authors for reaching the competition's most outstanding shortlist yet.

Last year's winner, the fabulously atmospheric THE SOUND OF WHALES by Kerr Thomson, is publishing on Thursday 2nd April - watch this space!

THIS YEAR'S COMPETITION IS NOW OPEN!

Enter the Times/Chicken House Children's Fiction Competition 2016 ...

... and win a publishing contract worth £10,000!

We are looking for original ideas, a fresh voice and a story children will love. If you have written a novel for children between the ages of 7 and 18, visit our submissions page for details on how to submit your manuscript.

The competition has already launched the careers of many talented children's authors - you could be next!

Competition closes Friday 30th October 2015

Click here for full terms and conditions and for details of the prize.