Children's Fiction Competition: What Makes a Winner?

Posted by Kesia on Tuesday July 21st, 2015

So you’ve written your children’s novel – or perhaps you’re planning on writing one before our 18 December deadline! – but either way you’re probably curious about what we’re looking for. Here’s a little info on past winners for an insight into who, and what, has won in the past … (more…)

Pat Walsh

Pat Walsh, author of the Crowfield Curse series, was runner-up in the 2008 Times/Chicken House Children's Fiction Competition.

She was born in a haunted house in Kent and spent her early years in West Africa and Ireland before her family settled in Leicestershire. At the age of nine, Pat decided she wanted to be an archaeologist, going on her first dig at twelve. Now fully trained, she’s still digging to this day. However, her first love is writing and she finds her inspiration in mythology and folklore and in Britain’s rich historical heritage.

Pat now lives in Bedfordshire with her husband and two children.

Crowfield Demon

March 1348. Crowfield Abbey is starting to collapse.

William is given the job of repairing floor tiles in a haunted side chapel. There he finds a box from an earlier, pagan time, containing a small wooden bowl, covered with strange warnings and symbols.

The bowl is cursed and a hideous demon is unleashed within the Abbey's walls. It will wreak unspeakable havoc unless Will and his friends can summon help in time.

Crowfield Curse

Orphan boy William lives at Crowfield Abbey.

Sent into the forest to gather wood, he rescues a fantastical creature from a trap a hob, who shares a dark secret. Somewhere in the forest, behind the abbey is a grave. And buried there is an angel.

When two hooded strangers then arrive and start asking questions, Will is drawn into a terrifying battle of good versus evil.