Way Past Winter

Mila and her sisters live with their brother Oskar in a small forest cabin in the snow.

One night, a fur-clad stranger arrives seeking shelter for himself and his men. But by the next morning, they’ve gone – taking Oskar with them. Fearful for his safety, Mila and her sisters set out to bring Oskar back – even it means going north, crossing frozen wild-lands to find a way past an eternal winter.

The gorgeous new novel from the bestselling author of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize-winning The Girl of Ink & Stars and the Costa and Blue Peter Award-shortlisted The Island at the End of Everything

Two shortlistings for The Island at the End of Everything

Posted by Jazz on Friday November 24th, 2017

It's a double celebration in the Chicken House this week, as The Island at the End of Everything by Kiran Millwood Hargrave scoops not one but TWO major awards shortlistings!  (more…)

Kiran Millwood Hargrave's guide to YALC!

Posted by Jazz on Friday July 21st, 2017

YALC is nearly upon us! Author of The Girl of Ink & Stars, Kiran Millwood Hargrave, shares her top tips for the weekend ... (more…)

Hey, it’s May!

Posted by Jazz on Thursday May 4th, 2017

Yippee! Anyone off for a summer holiday yet? No, me neither. Never mind: instead, we’ve got two incredible titles lined up for your reading pleasure. Both of these books are genuinely special and unforgettable – not that we’re biased, or anything …
(more…)

The Girl of Ink & Stars wins the Waterstones Children's Book Prize

Posted by Jazz on Friday March 31st, 2017

We are absolutely over the moon to share that The Girl of Ink & Stars, the debut novel from Kiran Millwood Hargrave, has won the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2017!

(more…)

Island at the End of Everything

From the bestselling author of The Girl of Ink & Stars comes an irresistibly poetic, bittersweet and heartbreaking tale of finding your way home. 

Amihan lives on Culion Island, where some of the inhabitants including her mother – have leprosy. Ami loves her home with its blue seas and lush forests, Culion is all she has ever known. But the arrival of malicious government official Mr Zamora changes her world forever: islanders untouched by sickness are forced to leave. Banished across the sea, she's desperate to return, and finds a strange and fragile hope in a colony of butterflies. Can they lead her home before it's too late?

NaNoWriMo Nov Day 3: Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Posted by Jazz on Thursday November 3rd, 2016

Today Kiran Millwood Hargrave, author of the magical bestseller The Girl of Ink & Stars, shares her top writing tips for NaNoWriMo-ers.  (more…)

IT'S NEARLY YALC TIME!

Posted by Jazz on Monday July 25th, 2016

It's nearly the BEST time of year again: YALC WEEKEND!!! Yup, the weekend where all the wonderful book people converge in one room of dreamy bookish heaven is nearly here. Team Chicken will be setting up camp for the whole weekend – come and visit our stall for some GREAT book chat, discounted YA reads and (of course) freebies! Here's an idea of the stuff we're doing over the weekend ... (more…)

Two minutes with Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Posted by Jazz on Thursday May 5th, 2016

Today is the official publication day of the extraordinarily wonderful The Girl of Ink & Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave. You might have already spotted it in stores, as it's Waterstones' Children's Book of the Month for May! We caught up with Kiran to ask her some of our burning questions ...  (more…)

Girl of Ink & Stars

Forbidden to leave her island, Isabella dreams of the faraway lands her father once mapped.

When her closest friend disappears into the island’s Forgotten Territories, she volunteers to guide the search. As a cartographer’s daughter, she’s equipped with elaborate ink maps and knowledge of the stars, and is eager to navigate the island’s forgotten heart.

But the world beyond the walls is a monster-filled wasteland – and beneath the dry rivers and smoking mountains, a legendary fire demon is stirring from its sleep. Soon, following her map, her heart and an ancient myth, Isabella discovers the true end of her journey: to save the island itself.

A beautifully written and lyrical story of friendship, discovery, myths and magic – perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Frances Hardinge or Katherine Rundell.

Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Kiran Millwood Hargrave is an award-winning poet, playwright, and bestselling author. Her debut The Girl of Ink & Stars won the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2017 and the British Book Award's Children's Book of the Year, and was shortlisted for numerous awards including the Jhalak Prize, the Branford Boase Award and the Little Rebels Prize. Her second novel The Island at the End of Everything was released in April 2017, and has been shortlisted for both the Costa Book Awards and the Blue Peter Book Awards. Her fourth poetry collection OE, a retelling of Orpheus and Eurydice in collaboration with the artist Tom de Freston, was published by Bloomsbury in October 2017. Kiran lives by the river in Oxford with her husband, Tom, and their cat, Luna.