A Witch Alone

During an eventful holiday in Kingsport, Arianwyn is recruited for an important mission: to retrieve the Book of Quiet Glyphs from its hiding place in the Great Wood. But as she returns home to Lull, feyling refugees gather outside the town walls and hex plagues the forest. As tensions lead to fall-outs with her friends, town squabbles and magical mishaps, Arianwyn faces a sobering truth: she alone can find the Book, and wield its secrets …

The second book in James Nicol’s enchanting Apprentice Witch series; perfect for fans of The Worst Witch or Diana Wynne Jones. 

NaNoWriMo Nov Day 11: James Nicol

Posted by Jazz on Friday November 11th, 2016

Happy Friday! As a start-of-the-weekend treat the lovely James Nicol, author of The Apprentice Witch, has only gone and shared his writing advice – perfect for those hoping to do a NaNoWriMo sprint this weekend! (more…)

JULY BOOKS!

Posted by Jazz on Wednesday July 13th, 2016

So, summer is officially here! (*Looks out of window to grey skies and drizzle*) Ok, so the weather may not be great, but that can be a good thing – more time to curl up in a reading nook with one of our two fabulous – and very different – July books.  (more…)

APPRENTICE WITCHES!

Posted by Kesia on Thursday June 30th, 2016

Exactly one week to go until James Nicol’s The Apprentice Witch is magicked into the book world, and we’re delighted to announce that we’ve acquired two more novels in the series – hurray! But what’s it all about? (more…)

Apprentice Witch

Arianwyn has fluffed her witch’s assessment.

Awarded the dull bronze disc of an apprentice – to the glee of her arch-rival, mean girl Gimma – she’s sent to protect the remote, dreary town of Lull. But her new life is far from boring. Turns out Gimma is the pompous mayor’s favourite niece – and worse, she opens a magical rift in the nearby forest. As Arianwyn struggles with her spells, a mysterious darkness begins to haunt her – and it’s soon clear there’s much more than her pride at stake …

An enchanting read, perfect for fans of Diana Wynne Jones or The Worst Witch

 

James Nicol

James Nicol has loved books and stories his whole life. As a child he spent hours absorbed in novels, watching epic 1980s cartoons or adventuring in the wood at the bottom of the garden. He lives in Yorkshire with his partner and a black cockapoo called Bonnie.